Data Mining -Class Activities

Mon Dec 2
Chapter(5)
Projects are due by noon

Wed Nov 30
Chapter(5)

Mon Nov 28
Chapter(5)

Fri Nov 25
TGB

Wed Nov 23
TGB

Mon Nov 21
Discussion of the exam
Chapter(5)

Wed Nov 16
Neural Network Learning Lab - Adam Reagan's Honors Thesis approach

Mon Nov 14
Exam (1) - Chapter 1, 2, 3, and 4 (4.1, 4.2, 4.3, and 4.4). Handout on Principal Component Analysis

Wed Oct 26
Finished 4.4
Example for Minimum Description Length (MDL): MDL Example
MATLAB code for the IRIS clustring, tree, ...
Code
Iris data in txt format and Iris data in Excel format

Mon Nov 7
Discussion of Chapter (4)

Wed Oct 26
Finished Chapter(3)

Mon Oct 31
Discussion of Chapter (3)
Assignment (8) is due.

Wed Oct 26
Chapter(2)

Mon Oct 24
Discussion of Paper(6) - Clustering Documents in a Web Directory
Discussion - Same as usual.
Continue Chapter(2)

Wed Oct 19
Continue discussion of the paper, finished Chapter (2)

Mon Oct 17
Discussion of Paper(5) - Weather data

Wed Oct 12
Chapter(3)
Deadline - What type of data you plan to use in your project and what are you trying to discover or find out. Write one paragraph and indicate the source of your data.
Last person - discussion on Paper(4)

Wed Oct 7
Finished the discussion of Paper (4)
Finished Chapter(1)
Discussed Scott Barlowe's paper on Microarrays

Mon Oct 3
Chapter(1) of the text
Discussion Paper (4) - All students
Wednesday Oct 12 is the deadline for a summary on the type of data you wish to use in your project.

Wed Sep 28
Discussion Paper (3)

Mon Sep 26
Discussion Paper (3) and (4)

Wed Sep 21
Finished Neural Network Review

Mon Sep 19
Discussion of Paper (1) and (2)

Wed Sep 16
Neural Network Review

Wed Sep 14
Neural Network Review

Mon Sep 12
Neural Network Review
Paper (2) was given out

Fri Sep 9
Statistics - Regression, etc
Paper (1) was given out

Wed Sep 7
Statistics - Variables (independent, dependent), mean, std, ...
Assignment (1) Due

Fri Sep 2
Last class on Database .. ER diagram

Mon Aug. 29
Continued Chapter (3), Chapter (9).
Assignment (1) - Due Sept 7

Fri Aug. 26
Chapter (2).
Read Chapter (3) Database book .

Wed Aug. 24
Syllabus - Introduction
Read Chapters (1, 2) of Database book